Fecal Sac

4B3A0287

This week’s photo, taken July 28, 2017 at Richmond Beach Park in Shoreline, WA, features a fledgling SONG SPARROW (on the left) begging to be fed by its parent.

Speaking of birds raising their young, I recently viewed a remarkable video. I rarely use this space to recommend other people’s bird-related stuff – basically because this blog is all about me and my birds :). However, this video is so outstanding, I must share.

I know. Your time limit for viewing online videos is about one minute max, and the video I speak of is 22 minutes long, so there’s no way you are going to watch it, right? Well, if a miracle occurs and you find the time, you won’t regret it. Pay particular attention at the 11:12 mark because you will witness something most of us have probably never seen before (I certainly hadn’t). Can you say “fecal sac?”

Birds are truly amazing.

Here’s the link: https://vimeo.com/205715193

Bird cards, phone cases and prints: http://joe-sweeney.fineartamerica.com

About Joe Sweeney

I photograph birds to share the beauty and wonder I find in nature.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fecal Sac

  1. Chris Van Beveren says:

    Love those yellow edges to the beak, can tell which is the baby just by that.

  2. Mary Friestedt says:

    Great video, Joe. I learned a lot. Thanks for sharing. 😜Mary

    On Thu, Aug 10, 2017 at 4:21 PM Short & Tweet Bird Reports wrote:

    > Joe Sweeney posted: ” This week’s photo, taken July 28, 2017 at Richmond > Beach Park in Shoreline, WA, features a fledgling SONG SPARROW (on the > left) begging to be fed by its parent. Speaking of birds raising their > young, I recently viewed a remarkable video. I rarely use t” >

  3. Judy Zeckhauser says:

    Thx Joe. It was a remarkable video. It was not until I went to my larger computer that I saw the fecal sac. Pretty remarkable. Thx, Judy

    >

Leave a Reply

