Stand Still and They Will Come

img_6106

This week’s photo, taken September 3, 2016 at Richmond Beach Park in Shoreline, WA, features an AMERICAN PIPIT.

While I was birding on the beach one day in early September, 4 small birds fell out of the sky and landed about 100 feet away. As I lifted my camera to grab a fast photo, they all decided to depart as quickly as they had arrived. I didn’t get a single shot, I had no idea what species of bird it was, and I had no clue where they went. Oh, well, nothing left for me to do but resume my scanning of the Puget Sound, in hopes of finding the next rare sea bird.

A few minutes later, out of the corner of my eye, I noticed that the mystery birds were back. They had landed again and were now foraging along the beach. They were quite a distance away, but through my spotting scope I identified them as AMERICAN PIPITS, a long-legged, tail-bobbing, hyperactive bird that – at least in my experience – doesn’t allow people to get close to them. However, as they searched for food, they seemed to be walking towards me, so I stood still and tried to appear less like a human and more like a vertical piece of driftwood. And I waited. Within a few minutes they were 20 feet away, and I captured some nice close up images.

Bird cards and prints for sale: http://joe-sweeney.fineartamerica.com

About Joe Sweeney

I photograph birds to share the beauty and wonder I find in nature.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stand Still and They Will Come

  1. Connie Saunders says:

    Thanks for the great close-up of an — until now — unknown species of bird for this mid-westerner. Connie Saunders

    >

  2. SusanKTucker@comcast.net says:

    Your posts often bring a smile! And after a very frustrating day-your post did that. I do not think you look like a piece of driftwood!!!! Continue to enjoy your text and photos of bird life. Thanks for the smile. S

  3. kathydoremus says:

    They have quite a gentle beauty about them. And hmmm…I will have to try the pretend to be driftwood approach!

Leave a Reply

