Careful What You Wish for

img_6170

This week’s photo, taken September 5, 2016 at Richmond Beach Park in Shoreline, WA, features a PARASITIC JAEGER (on the right) chasing a CALIFORNIA GULL.

It’s September, which means PARASITIC JAEGERS are migrating south through Puget Sound. This year, I hope to get closer looks of these exciting, fast-moving, acrobatic, food-stealing sea birds than I got last year when virtually all of them were flying far from shore.

Be careful what you wish for. When I spot my first jaeger of the season, it’s fairly close. It’s flying south rapidly and parallel to shore. After I take a few photos, the jaeger unexpectedly turns 90 degrees and flies directly toward me. It’s in pursuit of a gull that’s in-between it and me, and within a few seconds both birds are above the beach, attempting to outmaneuver each other. The jaeger lets out a loud squeal, separates from the gull and heads back out to sea. While resuming its journey south, it finds the time to harass another gull (see photo).

I was eager for a closer view of a jaeger this year, but I never expected to see one fifty feet away. It was astonishing how quickly the action developed, and then suddenly it was over. I now understand how a jaeger can startle a gull and cause it to drop its food. If I had any food on me at the time, I probably would have dropped it when that intimidating sea bird came at me.

Bird cards and prints for sale: http://joe-sweeney.fineartamerica.com

About Joe Sweeney

I photograph birds to share the beauty and wonder I find in nature.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Careful What You Wish for

  1. Connie Saunders says:

    Great description! Thanks! Connie — Minneapolis area

    >

  2. Lynda Kuebler says:

    Great photo, Joe!!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. Chris says:

    Great photo Joe!

  4. kitty robyn says:

    Really enjoyed your post this week. Thanks for the smile.
    Kitty in I.B.

Leave a Reply

