Feline with Feathers

IMG_5853

This week’s photo, taken August 29, 2016 at a private residence on Whidbey Island in Washington state, features a GREAT HORNED OWL.

Monday morning, while we were finishing breakfast at our friends’ house on Whidbey Island, I glanced out the dining room window and noticed a large, dark animal on the branch of a fir tree. My first thought was that it was a big black cat, even though it seemed crazy that a feline would be perched so high in a tree. After quickly retrieving my binoculars from the back room, I confirmed that it was an owl, the darkest GREAT HORNED OWL that I’ve ever seen. Nevertheless, with that posture, that face, those “ears” and those eyes (especially those eyes!), it’s amazingly cat-like, don’t you agree?

Bird cards and prints for sale: http://joe-sweeney.fineartamerica.com

About Joe Sweeney

I photograph birds to share the beauty and wonder I find in nature.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Feline with Feathers

  1. Chris says:

    Needs her claws trimmed if she wants to sit on MY lap…

  2. Marlene Prendergast says:

    Fabulous photo! Marlene Prendergast >

  3. Lynda Kuebler says:

    My favorite bird😜. Lynda

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

