A Whale Tale

IMG_8583

This week’s photo, taken February 15, 2016 from the pier in Edmonds, WA, features the part of a HUMPBACK WHALE that you see last when the whale begins its dive.

On Monday, weather conditions were downright crummy at the Edmonds pier. Visibility was poor, the rain was constant, and thanks to the gusts of wind, the rain was blowing sideways. As a result, my spotting scope, camera, binoculars and I all got wet, even though I was standing underneath one of the shelters on the pier.

Not surprisingly, it was a slow morning for birding. Yet, as I began to question my sanity for showing up on such a lousy weather day, fairly close to shore a large spray of moisture shot up in the air. A HUMPBACK WHALE was surfacing right in front of me, and so I immediately did the logical thing: I suspended bird-watching efforts and became a whale-watcher instead.

I’ve seen a few other Humpbacks in the Puget Sound during the past couple of years, but none as close as this one. The large marine mammal, a mere 150 – 200 yards from shore, took another 3-4 breaths, then rounded its back (hence the name ‘Humpback’), slowly lifted its tail completely out of the water and disappeared below the water’s surface.

20 minutes later, it surfaced again, announcing its presence with another blast of spray, followed by 3-4 lesser sprays. Then it hunched its back, lifted its tail and headed down under once again.

Bird cards and prints for sale: http://joe-sweeney.fineartamerica.com

About Joe Sweeney

I photograph birds to share the beauty and wonder I find in nature.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Whale Tale

  1. Sara Dale says:

    This is so cool!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Chris says:

    I was probably right overhead – my plane from Calgary to Seattle, connecting enroute to SFO landed at Seatac about 10:30AM on Monday. We got the Snowy, as well as a Great Gray, Gray Partridge, Common Redpolls, White-winged Crossbills, American Tree Sparrows, Rough-legged Hawk, and a Blue Jay sitting on a rooftop. Seven life birds.

Leave a Reply

