A Mighty Wind

IMG_7544

This week’s photo, taken from the pier in Edmonds, WA, features a small fraction of a large flock of DUNLIN, a common wintering shorebird in the Puget Sound area.

More than 1000 DUNLIN are hanging out along the Edmonds shoreline this winter, and their synchronized flight demonstrations are exciting to watch. Sometimes, while I’m standing on the pier, I will see a huge flock speeding towards me. As the Dunlin zoom past the pier in an amazingly tight group, almost touching the water surface and each other as they sprint by, I think back a few decades, to a summer day when I was a spectator at a cycling competition in the state of Georgia. As I stood on a sidewalk, about 50 cyclists raced by just a few feet away. The athletes on 2 wheels created their own wind, and we bystanders could feel and hear that rush of air as they passed.

When several hundred Dunlin fly by, although I don’t feel the sensation of wind that I did with the cyclists, I do hear the whoosh of air produced by those tiny birds, and that sound is an incredible thrill.

Cards and prints for the new year: http://joe-sweeney.fineartamerica.com

About Joe Sweeney

I photograph birds to share the beauty and wonder I find in nature.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Mighty Wind

  1. Fabius Fox says:

    Hi Joe, It’s always good to get your notes. Did you see the movie “A mighty Wind”? As a folkiein the 60’s I identified with it. Happy and a Healthy New Year, Fabe

    On Thu, Jan 28, 2016 at 9:04 PM, Short & Tweet Bird Reports wrote:

    > Joe Sweeney posted: ” This week’s photo, taken from the pier in Edmonds, > WA, features a small fraction of a large flock of DUNLIN, a common > wintering shorebird in the Puget Sound area. More than 1000 DUNLIN are > hanging out along the Edmonds shoreline this winter, and their ” >

  2. Chris says:

    So I take it the out of focus look was your artistic choice, not a whoops! We had a speaker some years back at the Bird Festival who was a photographer using all black and white and silvery images. A couple of people in the audience could not understand why she would not use color film. She tried to explain, it is my artistic choice, but they could not grasp that concept.

    I too immediately thought of the movie A Mighty Wind.

Leave a Reply

