Hybrid

photo

This week’s photo, taken by Laura on December 26, 2015 at the Woodland Zoo in Seattle, WA, features what sorta looks like a Snowy Owl.

A few readers of my blog have asked me lately if any Snowy Owls have shown up so far this winter in the Pacific Northwest. I didn’t know of any, but not wanting to disappoint anyone, I tried really hard last Saturday night to find one at the local zoo. Well, the body looks like a Snowy Owl, and it does have a familiar face (at least familiar to me when I look in the mirror), yet I suspect the American Ornithologists’ Union would classify this individual as a hybrid.

Cards and prints for whenever: http://joe-sweeney.fineartamerica.com

About Joe Sweeney

I photograph birds to share the beauty and wonder I find in nature.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hybrid

  1. Ann Sorenson says:

    Now there is a bird I like

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. SusanKTucker@comcast.net says:

    TThe snowy owl is almost as good a hybrid as a birds nest with eggs. HoHoHo Happy New Year. Looking forward to another year of your bird posts. Have to smile when you find birds that are so common here in NH but are special to someone who has lived in S Calif. We take so much for granted.Snowy Owls are here again on the seacoast. Do you have pine siskins and juncos- our winter birds.? Susan

  3. susan hunter says:

    Ha, Ha, Ha LOL We have one Snowy over on the coast keeping the duck population under control. It arrived in Nov. Have a Happy New Year ! Susan Hunter >

Leave a Reply

