Dazed and Confused

IMG_2402

This week’s photo, taken September 24, 2015 through our dining room window in Seattle, WA, features a female WESTERN TANAGER.

This morning, while I was in the middle of the house, I heard a loud noise at our living room window. I walked to the front of the house and looked out the window, concerned about what I might find. A few inches from the window, a yellow-green bird was sitting motionless on the ground. It was a WESTERN TANAGER, only the second one we have ever seen on our property. This poor tanager appeared too dazed and confused to fly away. Clearly, it was not having a good day.

Unfortunately, I’ve witnessed, either visually or audibly, way too many birds crashing against windows. While a window strike is never a pleasant situation, often there’s a chance the bird will heal. It may just need some time. 15-30 minutes after the traumatic event, the bird might be able to fly away (hopefully, fully recovered).

When I checked again on the Western Tanager several minutes later, it flew up to our dogwood tree and perched on a branch for awhile. I took some photos from inside the house and, eventually, the tanager flew out of our yard. Hopefully, it has fully recovered and is now resuming its migration to the tropics for the winter.

To learn how you might make your windows safer for the birds, go online and search “birds hitting windows” or some similar expression. Let me know if you try something, and it helps. I wish I had the answer for all of us, and for the birds.

Bird Cards/Prints for sale: http://joe-sweeney.fineartamerica.com

About Joe Sweeney

I photograph birds to share the beauty and wonder I find in nature.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dazed and Confused

  1. Freda Papoff says:

    Don’t wash your windows. If they are dirty they are more visible…….

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. SusanKTucker@comcast.net says:

    Hi Joe, just returned from a 2 week trip to Glacier, Yellowstone and Grand teton national parks. Most unusual and life bird was a Dipper at Glacier. Also trumpter swans in Yellowstone. But wanted to tell you about the window decals that seem to prevent birds from crashing into the windows. I ordered them online. WindowAlert.com If you have not been to those parks, I highly recommend a trip in the fall- magnificent scenery and great looks at the wildlife-sometimes very close!!!! I continue to enjoy your post- makes me smile. We have many of the same birds here and for many years have taken them for granted but to hear about them from you makes me realize how special they are. S

Leave a Reply

