Red, Yellow and Black

IMG_8107

This week’s photo, taken June 14, 2015 along the Carlson Canyon trail north of Cle Elum, WA, features a male WESTERN TANAGER.

When bird photographers approach, Western Tanagers often play hard to get. Maybe these strikingly gorgeous tanagers keep their distance because they are tired of the constant barrage of paparazzi that seem to follow them everywhere.

Fortunately, during our Seattle Audubon field trip last Sunday to the Teanaway River Basin on the east side of the Cascades, 3 brilliantly colored male WESTERN TANAGERS were so busy chasing each other that they seemed unaware of our presence. They might have been involved in a territorial dispute regarding breeding rights. Whatever their issue, one of them was distracted enough that it briefly landed near me, and I quickly grabbed a few images before it resumed its role as chaser or chasee.

Cards/Prints for sale: http://joe-sweeney.fineartamerica.com

About Joe Sweeney

I photograph birds to share the beauty and wonder I find in nature.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Red, Yellow and Black

  1. Brad Snyder says:

    Stunning shot!

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Dpapera says:

    beautiful bird – and nice photo I’m going to RLP on saturday for my 11th week there. I will be looking for birds. Donna

  3. Ann Sorenson says:

    Always a pleasure to get your bird Reports. I am hoping in my next Life I will be able to identify birds Happy summer. Ann

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  4. Deborah says:

    So handsome! I was lucky enough to see my first ever Painted Buntings very close up last week down in Georgia – alas, no photos.

Leave a Reply

