Who Am I?

IMG_6462

This week’s photo, taken May 17, 2015 along the Umtanum Creek trail in Kittitas County, WA, features a YELLOW-BREASTED CHAT.

“Who am I?” might be the question the YELLOW-BREASTED CHAT is asking itself these days. It’s classified as a warbler, but it has always been a mystery to me why the warbler affiliation. Except for its yellow plumage, the Chat doesn’t look like a warbler. A Chat is significantly bigger than any other warbler, and its bill is thicker. The Chat has spectacles that resemble a vireo, and its song is unlike any other warbler vocalization. In fact, its song is unlike any other bird song I’ve ever heard.

Perhaps it’s been lumped in with warblers because the so-called “experts” didn’t know where to put it. I think I know where this magnificent bird belongs. It belongs in a family of its own.

Cards/Prints: http://joe-sweeney.fineartamerica.com

About Joe Sweeney

I photograph birds to share the beauty and wonder I find in nature.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who Am I?

  1. Scott Dean says:

    Nice Joe. We have these around, just haven’t been lucky enough to come across one yet.

  2. Chris says:

    I am still waiting to see a life Yellow-breasted Chat. A couple of times on birdwalks I have caught up to someone saying, “it was just here” but now it isn’t.

Leave a Reply

