Larry

IMG_7984

This week’s photo, taken February 16, 2015 at Rancho La Puerta Fitness Resort in Tecate, Baja California, Mexico, features an adult male LAWRENCE’S GOLDFINCH, displaying its distinctive black face, yellow chest and gray body. (In this photo, a branch is blocking our view of the yellow in its wings, and that fact reminds me that while Photoshop is currently celebrating its 25th anniversary, I am celebrating my 25th year of not using Photoshop).

The most unusual bird species I saw during last week’s visit to Rancho La Puerta was a LAWRENCE’S GOLDFINCH. The least common of the 3 goldfinches found in North America, “Larry” (the nickname I once heard a birder use when he spotted a Lawrence’s Goldfinch), is an infrequent wintering bird at the spa.

My finest bird photos at: http://joe-sweeney.fineartamerica.com

About Joe Sweeney

I photograph birds to share the beauty and wonder I find in nature.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Larry

  1. Chris says:

    Love it – Larry, YES. Not easy to find up here either.

Leave a Reply

