Rancho La Puerta

IMG_8332

This week’s photo, taken February 20, 2015 at Rancho La Puerta in Tecate, Baja California, Mexico, features a WESTERN SCRUB-JAY, a very common and popular bird species at the resort.

Laura and I just returned from a glorious week at Rancho La Puerta Health and Fitness Resort, where I previously worked for a few decades as a fitness instructor and bird guide,  before I moved north to Seattle, WA 2 1/2 years ago.

During our week, Laura performed a wonderful piano concert for the guests, and I spent much of my time reconnecting with old friends of both the human and the avian kind.

Check out The “Ranch” at: http://www.rancholapuerta.com

Check out Laura’s website at: http://www.lauramusic.biz

Check out my finest bird photos at: http://joe-sweeney.fineartamerica.com

About Joe Sweeney

I photograph birds to share the beauty and wonder I find in nature.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rancho La Puerta

  1. charlagabert says:

    Hi Joe

    So delighted you were back at The Ranch for a week.

    I am visiting my mother Marcie Buck in Englewood, Florida (she lives in St Louis usually) and she says “hi.” (She came with me 10 times to The Ranch.)

    We were just talking about you today as we have been enjoying great blue herons, brown pelicans, great white egrets, snowy egrets, little blue herons, and a maniacal mockingbird who is driving me crazy at night.

    I am looking forward to my 15th visit to The Ranch June 6.

    Best regards, Charla

    Charla Gabert charlagabert@yahoo.com 925-352-3096 cell

    “If you have built castles in the air, your work need not be lost; that is where they should be. Now put the foundations under them.” -Henry David Thoreau

    >

  2. kathydoremus says:

    Wish we had those birds on the east coast. He is handsome.

  3. Scott Dean says:

    Joe, Judging by your typical ranch photos, including this Jay, I’m convinced that all the ranch birds are tame and have had their wings clipped. Scott

Leave a Reply

