Flaring with Flair

IMG_3333

This week’s photo, taken November 24, 2014 from the fishing pier in Edmonds, WA, features the SNOWY OWL flaring its wings for a soft landing.

I figure that few people will complain if I post a photo of the SNOWY OWL a third week in a row. After all, it’s worth viewing this marvelous creature from a few different angles, don’t you agree?

Here’s a Snowy Owl update: Apparently, for about 7 days, no one saw the Snowy Owl (or at least no one reported seeing it), until a local birder spotted it in Edmonds on Friday, December 5, perched on the roof of a house. The owl was on top of the house, NOT the birder. The owl may have plans to spend the entire winter in the Edmonds area, and we welcome it to linger as long as it wants.

I plan to focus on another bird species next week. That is, unless the Snowy Owl lands on my spotting scope, spreads its wings and says, “I’m ready for my close-up, Mr. Birder.”

Greeting cards for any occasion: http://joe-sweeney.fineartamerica.com

About Joe Sweeney

I photograph birds to share the beauty and wonder I find in nature.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Flaring with Flair

  1. Marlene Prendergast says:

    I am missing the colorful birds of Ranch La Puerta but never tire of the Snowy Owl! Thanks! Marlene Prendergast

    >

  2. There’s no such thing as too many Snowy Owl photos! Bring it on! Thank you for continuing the story – I did wonder where this character went and now it seems he/she is wanting to give you a show.

  3. Sara Dale says:

    You can feature owls as much as you’d like!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  4. Deborah says:

    That’s a great picture! Look at the detail of those wing feathers! I miss seeing the birds from the Ranch, but I love the new birds from the northwest, too. Around here, we’re starting to see reports of snowies in southern Rhode Island now.

  5. Cindy Ackley says:

    Great photos as always. Thank you! Happy holidays…

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

