3 Flukes

IMG_9451

This week’s photo, taken August 20, 2014 from Discovery Park in Seattle, WA, features the rear section of a HUMPBACK WHALE.

I often bird-watch from the westernmost point of Discovery Park (known fittingly as West Point) because one just never knows what might fly by or be sitting on the waters of the Puget Sound. One morning in August I spotted a spray of water about half a mile off shore. That was certainly something I had not seen before in the two years I’ve resided in Washington state. I thought, “Hmmm, could that be a whale?” Indeed, it was, and when its tail popped out of the water, I knew I had a tale to tell.

I saw three flukes that day in August. One definition of “fluke” is an ‘unlikely chance occurrence,’ and a Humpback Whale in the Puget Sound is definitely an unusual event. After my sighting, I did some brief investigation of whale anatomy, and I discovered that each of the two halves of a whale tail is known as a fluke. So, to sum things up: one fluke + two flukes = three flukes. I hope you’re keeping up with the math.

I have not probed any deeper into the world of whale anatomy. Instead, I have decided to keep my focus primarily on the birds of Washington. I’m looking forward to future visits to Discovery Park, where the next fluke I encounter might be of the feathery kind.

View Joe’s Best Bird Photos at: http://joe-sweeney.fineartamerica.com

About Joe Sweeney

I photograph birds to share the beauty and wonder I find in nature.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 3 Flukes

  1. Pamela Conley says:

    Hi Joe,

    I’m at the airport waiting to board to go to RLP tomorrow. Enjoy your whales. I will be enjoying the birds there. Love receiving your photos.

    Pam

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Brenda Peterson says:

    You are funny!:^)!

    Thanks for brightening my day! – b

Leave a Reply

