Bonus Birds

IMG_7314

This week’s photo, taken June 14, 2014 in Yakima County, WA, features an EASTERN KINGBIRD, one of Washington state’s Bonus Birds.

When I moved from the Southwest to the Northwest nearly two years ago, I knew there would be fewer bird species up here, but that fact didn’t bother me a bit. After all, the state of Washington offers enough “new” birds to challenge, excite and entertain me for years to come.

What I didn’t expect to experience in the northwest are a few species that I considered to be “eastern” birds. I now know that if you cross over the Cascades to the eastern half of our state, EASTERN KINGBIRD, GRAY CATBIRD, RED-EYED VIREO and VEERY can all be found during the breeding season if you explore the right habitat. Their presence here is a delightful and unexpected bonus to me.

To view Joe’s Best Bird Photos, go to: http://joe-sweeney.fineartamerica.com

About Joe Sweeney

I photograph birds to share the beauty and wonder I find in nature.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bonus Birds

  1. Scott Dean says:

    Eastern Kingbird on a barbed wire. One of the more common sites in my neck of the woods during the summer. We even get a few in our yard, but no Westerns yet. Nice photo.

  2. Chris VB says:

    We had one of those two summers ago, on the famous Turri Road, about 2 miles from my house. It was noticed because there was also an Indigo Bunting at the same spot, singing, and many birders came out to see it, and someone saw the kingbird as well. It was quite the party spot for a couple of weeks.

Leave a Reply

