Are You a Spy?

IMG_5420

This week’s photo, taken April 26, 2014 at Discovery Park in Seattle, WA, features a flock of BRANT streaming past the park’s western-most point, which borders the Puget Sound.

Saturday at Discovery Park, I’m walking the trails decked out in my standard bird-watching outfit, consisting of multiple layers of clothing topped off with my floppy hat that sometimes conceals part of my face. I’m also lugging my binoculars, camera and telephoto lens, as I usually do. A family of four strolls towards me, and the small boy, probably 4 or 5 years old, asks me a question that I’ve never heard before:

“Excuse me. Are you a spy?”

Naturally, I respond as any professional spy would, by explaining:

“Well, if I were a spy, I would not be allowed to admit it; therefore, I cannot answer your question.”

His young mind struggles to process my confusing statement, so I decide to give it to him straight:

“No, I am not a spy.”

His father, walking a few feet behind the inquisitive son, smilingly joins the conversation by telling his son:

“He might be spying on birds.”

To purchase prints or greeting cards of Joe’s Best Bird Photos: http://joe-sweeney.fineartamerica.com

About Joe Sweeney

I photograph birds to share the beauty and wonder I find in nature.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Are You a Spy?

  1. Gary Grantham says:

    I always suspected you were a spy.

  2. Brenda Peterson says:

    So adorable!

    Thank you, Joe!

    Brenda

Leave a Reply

