Why Birders Wear Hats

IMG_2669

This week’s photo, taken December 16, 2013 near the University of Washington in Seattle, WA, features a low-flying BALD EAGLE.

The Bald Eagle image reminds me of why I wear a hat when I bird-watch. One of the few times I forgot to pack a hat, an American Goldfinch pooped on my head. That’s a classic example of Murphy’s Law: the bird relieved itself above me BECAUSE I was not wearing a hat.

Perhaps you’ve heard that it’s considered a sign of luck when a bird hits you with a special air delivery. Indeed, I felt lucky when that finch left its mark on me. That is, I thanked my lucky stars that a hawk or an eagle wasn’t flying above me that day.

About Joe Sweeney

I photograph birds to share the beauty and wonder I find in nature.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why Birders Wear Hats

  1. Brenda Peterson says:

    You are hysterical! Thanks for the beautiful photo!

    Hope you are doing great!

    Brenda

Leave a Reply

