No Place Like Home

IMG_0101

This week’s photo, taken September 26, 2013 from our bedroom window in northeast Seattle, WA, features a RED-BREASTED SAPSUCKER drilling a row of sap holes in a tree in our back yard.

On Thursday, I drive to Carkeek Park in northwest Seattle for a morning of bird-watching, and I am hopeful of returning with a decent bird photo for my weekly report. At Carkeek, I spot my first AMERICAN WIGEONS of the season, a MERLIN then raises the excitement level in the park when it repeatedly dive bombs the gulls and the ducks, and a large, disorganized flock of AMERICAN CROWS adds comic relief to my outing when it clumsily chases the much faster falcon. Nevertheless, I return home without a suitable image.

Fortunately, Laura saves the day in the early afternoon when she spots a RED-BREASTED SAPSUCKER from our bedroom window, the first sapsucker I’ve ever seen in our yard. While the woodpecker creates its handiwork a mere 20 feet away, I stand in the warmth and comfort of our house, with my telephoto lens aimed at the magnificent bird and my elbows braced against the window frame to steady the camera. Thanks to Laura, I get my photo for the week.

We often journey great distances to find what we want, yet sometimes what we desire is closer than we think. As Dorothy says in the Wizard of Oz, “There’s no place like home. There’s no place like home.”

About Joe Sweeney

I photograph birds to share the beauty and wonder I find in nature.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to No Place Like Home

  1. Judy Zeckhauser says:

    Wow…. From your bedroom. Beautiful. Judy

  2. Marlene Prendergast says:

    Beautiful! You both are dedicated souls and we appreciate your efforts! Marlene Prendergast mhp560@gmail.com

  3. Scott Dean says:

    Nice report.

  4. Cindy Ackley says:

    There is no place like home…

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

