A Fine Consolation Prize

IMG_5626

This week’s photo, taken June 7, 2013 at Conboy Lake National Wildlife Refuge in the south/central region of Washington state, features a singing WESTERN MEADOWLARK.

 

Friday, I visit Conboy Lake NWR, and although I arrive in the middle of the afternoon on a breezy day, I still manage to experience some wonderful birds, including RUFFED GROUSE, CASSIN’S VIREO, WHITE-HEADED WOODPECKER, NASHVILLE WARBLER and EASTERN KINGBIRD.

SANDHILL CRANES, once extirpated from the state of Washington, returned to Conboy in 1979, and in recent years a few dozen pairs have been nesting each spring in the wet meadows. From the observation platform, I spot a pair of cranes across the meadow, and then a small head pops up out of the grass – a baby crane! I’m too far away to capture a decent image with my camera, but since I had heard that fairly close views of cranes are sometimes possible from Kreps Lane Road, I return to my car and head in that direction. When I reach the most promising spot along that gravel road, I only notice another distant pair of cranes. However, a WESTERN MEADOWLARK proves to be a fine consolation prize. It perches on a nearby fence, faces into the sun, and it repeatedly broadcasts its soothing song. I take several photos of this highly cooperative beauty. Often times, in bird-watching and in life, it’s worth making the effort to find something. You won’t always get what you want, but you may be rewarded in other ways.

About Joe Sweeney

I photograph birds to share the beauty and wonder I find in nature.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Fine Consolation Prize

  1. Judy Zeckhauser says:

    “And you get what you need!” Love it. 🎼🎼🎼🎼. j

  2. ninadoggett@comcast.net says:

    Joe: aren’t they just the coolest birds? How wonderful! Nina

    Sent from my iPhone

  3. Chris says:

    I can almost hear the song.

  4. cathieborrie says:

    AMEN . . . wise words indeed.

  5. BRIAN FREDERICK says:

    I enjoyed your most recent post that concluded with this bit of wisdom: Often times, in bird-watching and in life, it’s worth making the effort to find something. You won’t always get what you want, but you may be rewarded in other ways.

  6. jillturpin@comcast.net says:

    Hello Joe,

    Joe the philosopher. I love the sentiment. Keep them coming. Jill

Leave a Reply

