Rubber Duckies

IMG_3587

This week’s photo, taken April 30, 2013 at Magnuson Park in Seattle, WA, features 13 CANADA GEESE goslings floating close behind a protective parent. Only about half of the total goslings are visible in this image because, using my fixed telephoto lens, I cannot fit all 24 chicks in a single frame.

 I arrive at Magnuson Park at 6pm on Tuesday, on a mission to find the SAGE THRASHER that had been spotted earlier that day. I eventually get a glimpse of the thrasher; however, the sighting of a “village” of birds shortly after I arrive really makes my day.

Soon after I park my car on that lovely spring evening, I notice two young guys using cell phones to take photos of CANADA GEESE waddling across the grass toward the shore of Lake Washington. When I get closer, I discover that the teenagers are actually photographing a group of goslings surrounded by a dozen adult geese. The 24 tiny geese (most likely several broods hanging out together) slowly make their way toward the lake, all the time accompanied by the finest goose guards available. Apparently, it takes a village.

The youngsters are great fun to watch as they transition from land to water. Their incredible cuteness and remarkable buoyancy remind me of rubber duckies. Although technically they are not ducks, each one does resemble a certain yellow toy that bobs up and down in a bathtub.

About Joe Sweeney

I photograph birds to share the beauty and wonder I find in nature.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rubber Duckies

  1. Lynda Kuebler says:

    How adorable!!!!

Leave a Reply

